Nemo Me Impune Lacessit

Saturday, 9 October 2021

Album Review — Now is the Time, by Perpetual Etude

Filed under: entertainment, Fun, Listening, Media, Reviews — Tags: , , — mikewb1971 @ 9:52 PM (21:52)

Band: Perpetual Etude

Album Title: Now is the Time

Release Date: Friday, 15 October 2021

One Liner Summary: Perpetual Etude definitely lives up to their stated intention — to bring back the best of 80s hard rock and metal.

Review: Now is the Time made me feel as though I had been transported back to 1985-1987. It reminded me of Yngwie Malmsteen’s Trilogy, along with Dokken’s Tooth and Nail and Under Lock and Key

They do deliver on what they say they’re shooting for — blistering, melodic guitars and keyboards, melodic vocals (see below).

I for one am hoping to hear more from Perpetual Etude, and to catch one of their live shows should they come to the States.

Rating (Out of 5): 5

Genres: Hard Rock, Metal, Neo Classical Heavy Metal

Record Label: Sound Pollution

Pre-order links — When I clicked the “Pre-Order” links on the Bandcamp site, all I got were these Javascript popup boxes, and there was NO URL available that I could copy and paste here for direct ordering or pre-ordering ANYTHING. REALLY aggravating, but this might be a Bandcamp thing, and entirely out of the band’s control.

For Fans Of: Alcatrazz, Cinderella, Dokken, Europe, Krokus, Leatherwolf, Yngwie Malmsteen, Night Ranger, Van Halen


  1. I’ve Got the Power
  2. Show Me
  3. Straight Through The Heart
  4. Once We Were One
  5. Hell Fire Burn
  6. Now Is The Time
  7. Sail Away
  8. Our Love

More about Perpetual Etude



  • Magnus Mild — Guitars
  • Kristian Fyhr — Vocals
  • Kaspar Dahlqvist — Keyboard
  • Vidar Mårtensson — Drums
  • Mikael T Planefeldt — Bass

From their Bandcamp site

Perpetual Etude formed in early 2019, as a project by Magnus Mild.

The aim was to write music with firm roots in the 80s hard rock / metal genre, where there were lots of guitar heroes, more solos than ever before and big focus on melodies. Influenced by that genre since childhood. Magnus wanted to focus on that sound and feel, build on it and take it one step further. When he later met up with vocalist Kristian Fyhr, Magnus had a vision: now is the time to do something about all those song ideas, now is the time to make something from it. Thus, the name of the album — Now is the Time. The songs depict the journeys in life, covering everything from finding true love to the loss of a close one. This is also symbolized on the album cover (by Gustavo Sazes), by a broken hourglass with good and bad memories coming out of the cracks. To learn from what has happened in the past and move on. The journey began to find the right persons for the job, to form a true band, and here we are now, finally, with the first Perpetual Etude album. Packed with blazing guitar and keyboard solos, fast and heavy riffing and very melodic vocals.

The guitar heroism of the 80s is back! Perpetual Etude was formed in 2019 by Magnus Mild with the sole goal to bring back the best of the heavy metal of the 80s. Influenced by the genre when growing up, Magnus teamed up with members from NorthTale, Dionysys, Nation, Shadowquest as well as Göran Edman on “Sail Away” to complete the vision. The result is the best of a whole decade in the astounding debut Now Is The Time, an album filled with blazing guitar riffs, keyboard solos and catchy choruses.

Perpetual Etude on social media — Facebook / Instagram / YouTube

Perpetual Etude on various search engines — Bing / DuckDuckGo / Google / Searx / Startpage


  1. Reposted —
    1. Personal blogs and micro-blogs — Bastyon / Blogspot / Diaspora* / Facebook page / FetLife / Flote / Gorf Social / Minds / Spreely page / Twitter / VK / Wimkin page / YouMe Social

Copyright © 2021 Mike Blessing. All rights reserved.
Produced by KCUF Media, a division of Extropy Enterprises.
This blog entry created with Notepadqq and Notepad++.

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: