Nemo Me Impune Lacessit

Saturday, 21 May 2016

Random Shots for Saturday, 21 May 2016

Filed under: Random Shots — mikewb1971 @ 11:59 PM (23:59)

Today in history

Comments I’ve posted

  1. Posted to Facebook

    In related news, got this from Marty Sweeney:

    https://facebook.com/LPNewMexico/posts/1339075432775745

  2. Posted to Facebook

    What I’ve seen of Weld’s “established political record” is that he blew off his 1990 campaign promises in 1993 and by 1995 was a willing cohort of his former nemesis Bulger.

    And how many of these “tens of millions of dollars” will actually end up in Libertarian Party coffers? Not many, if the LPNY’s 2006 experience with him is any indication.

  3. Posted to Facebook

    So what?

  4. Posted to Facebook

    Elisheva Hannah Levin

    What. I wrote to a friend–yes, still a friend for my part–who is very angry with me about our political disagreements. I have edited this somewhat to protect her and me.

    I wrote:
    Wow.
    First, major party status in New Mexico comes with major-party headaches. Do some digging into what happened to the Greens in 2000. It is not all sunshine and lollipops.

    Second, the LPNM and the LP stand for something. And that stance is what might attract members from other parties who are tired of standing for nothing but the next election and the power plays of their elected officials/party establishment gurus. It would benefit the latter people greatly to make sure the LP becomes progressive-lite, which would neutralize our candidate in the election. In any contest between several people sharing the same values (in this case, pragmatism), the most consistent wins. That would not be us.

    If you are an infiltrator, as you claimed, you are not that much of a threat to anyone. You would more likely be a useful idiot. That is what I was in my brief and destructive romance with the left when I was trying to save my marriage. I had no power. And frankly, neither do we in the LPNM. In the scheme of playing with the big boys, we are unimportant.

    What do we have? Our values and our stubborn hold on our individual rights, a heritage from our intellectual forebear’s, who were certainly more capable than we. But right now, we are it. We are here. Liberty lives or dies with us. It is a rare thing in the history of the world.

    It was a small percentage of stubborn Yankees who began this whole thing, with their insistence on ordered liberty and self-government from the Mayflower Compact through the deposing of Governor Andros in 1688, to the French and Indian war, the Boston Tea Party, and to Lexington and Concord. They were joined by the Virginians and other people from the South. They had terrific verbal battles amongst themselves, but somehow the Spirit of ’76 prevailed and they wrested an imperfect union from a long, difficult war with their English brethren. Most of them were just people. Like you and me. They didn’t have the ear of kings or kingmakers. They didn’t have a lot of money. They had a stubborn set of ideas about their rights as Englishmen, the evils of tyrants, and the benefits of self-government.

    Well, I claim those ideas. And so has the LP. And I have taken my stand. For Liberty. I thought you had, too. Stay standing with us. We will argue. We will be angry at one another. But by G-d we will stand. If only to tell our children when they ask what it was like to be free, we can say we did what we did for their liberty.

    I am not mad at you. I don’t hate you. I simply do not agree with you on strategy and tactics. I thought we agreed on the value of liberty, and I hope that we still do.

  5. Posted to Facebook

    Actually, it was in 1993 that Weld worked for the hoplophobes and victim disarmers.

  6. Posted to Facebook

    ‎Chuck Hudson‎ >>Libertarian Party of New Mexico

    Governor. When you were the governor of New Mexico you were accessible. Fridays, we had 5 minutes with the you. As I watch you in this election I am wondering, Where is the governor I knew? Where is the governor that told Washington to stick it? The governor that stood up and taught a state about freedom is not having Santa Fe hanging about our necks like an albatross. I’ve watched your debates. I did not see Gary Johnson. The man who 2 years ago tore a new ass on the forest service for using SWAT uniforms and tactics to search people. I see man who looks like him. But sounds like Romney. Not the man who a few weeks ago called Trump a pus….. well you remember.
    That is the man I want for president not the one I see before me. I want the president who as a governor offered to deliver K rails to the Pueblo tribes to block the highways. Not the man who wants Jews to bake Nazi cakes

  7. Posted to Facebook

    Make that two (2) shares.

Listening / Reading / Watching

  1. New York TimesIn Shift, Massachusetts Governor Backs Gun Law

Copyright © 2016 Mike Blessing. All rights reserved.
Produced by KCUF Media, a division of Extropy Enterprises.
This blog entry created with medit and Notepad++.

Blog at WordPress.com.

